fall for cold

I woke up,
inhaling fluorescence
before the sun rose.
I glanced over
and thought,
you are beautiful,
but I can only keep you
for as long as the seasons allow.
how quickly your colours change
while I am foolishly trying to catch
falling leaves that the city streets
never seem to meet.
before I knew it,
frost was nipping at my nose.
I fought cold by pushing you into the snow,
but I found myself falling along with you.
snowflakes adorned your cheeks,
so flushed already
that I had no time to kiss them
as they were already melting.

Leave a Reply

