columbidae

bobbing my head
not to music
but to my surroundings
each unfamiliar step
is so stimulating
I see in sections
separate
never as a whole
as though my center
of gravity was null
but I fly just fine
maybe not as graceful
as any owl or dove
sent from heaven above
but I have street smarts
so it starts
I can carry your letters
to and fro
but I can’t promise you
they’ll come in the condition
you wished for
I am not as dirty
as they say
it’s just that when
things go down
then I go down
being compared to dirt
hurts
so I will flirt
with danger
until my wings
are of higher things

Leave a Reply

