superbia

how long is too long
how short is too short
time teases me too much
beckoning me to come running back
to the people and places I miss
it is far too easy to say
“I am never stepping foot there
ever again”
pride is a precious
yet prying pearl
to keep mind of
I couldn’t come back without a medal
I told myself
how could I show my face again
without anything to show
my reputation precedes me
in high fashion actually
to think I am of legend
is no misconception
so how could I come back when
there is no platinum record
or gold medal
or acceptance letter
to boast of

I only want you to be proud of me

Leave a Reply

